Chelsi's Wedding Blog



I’m Back!

It has been much too long since I last updated!  Summer happened, and I was insanely busy, but I’m back now and it’s definitely time for a new post!  I’m going to abandon the process of making each post in a separate page as I was required to do for my class.  I like the traditional blogging method of having the most recent post at the top of the page.  However, you can still access the old post by clicking on them at the top of the page.

Paul and I have done a lot of planning over the summer!  We now have the hall and church booked, so that’s a relief!  I have a baker for my cake, Sheena of Sugar! Wedding Cakes who is not only a friend, but an accomplished baker who created cakes for a few weddings that I have attended.  She is excited to try to create the cake that I have in mind, this one, so that will be fun!

I am getting seat covers, sashes, and lights through Creative Touch and they have been awesome to deal with!  We’ll be getting light pink sashes and accents on everything.  I now have more than enough milk glass vases, so thank you everyone, VV, and garage sales for contributing to the decor!  Mom and I were also watching these vintage-style blown glass birds at Bowring, hoping that they’d go on sale.  They were $6 each and we needed about 80 or so, so that was way out of the budget.  However, they went on sale for MUCH cheaper and Mom was able to get Bowring to ship enough to us from Calgary (for a fee and Mom had to do a bunch of calling around, but still) and they are SO pretty!  We’ve also been collecting a bunch of jars for the candy bar and neat candle holders.  I’m still looking for a vintage bird cage to hold the cards, but I have a while for that.

Flowers are proving to be difficult.  The florists with whom I have met have informed me that filling 120 vases with flowers is going to be outrageously expensive.  One even estimated $30 PER VASE.  YEAH RIGHT.  So frustrating.  I thought about getting artificial flowers, but I just love flowers so much that this is one place that I don’t want to cheap out.  Plus, some of the artificial ones were more than the real ones!  Thus, I think that we are going to try to get hydrangeas and gerber daisies in pinks, apple green, blue, and mauve, and just use those.  Still, they’re like $4-$5 a STEM, so I have to see if I can maybe get them cheaper at Costco.  I’m also going to try to grow a ton of bachelor buttons and zinneas next year to add to the vases.  Thankfully, Mom talked to her friends, one of whom is my old kindergarten teacher, and they said that they would come and fill the vases on the day of the wedding and arrange the flowers, as they’re really good at that.  I would love to do it, but we don’t get the hall until the morning of the wedding, 😦

Tonight we met with a photographer.  This is proving to be another daunting process.  Paul, the awesome actuary that he is, made a spreadsheet of a tons of photographers, emailed them all for their packages, and then we weeded through them.  Many don’t photograph for as long as we’d like, but stop after the first dance, etc.  We had one who we were thinking of booking, but she moved, and the guy who I wanted the most, Sandy’s photographer, was booked.  The lady we met with tonight was SO GOOD.  We have the exact same aesthetic and ideas and she has SUCH a great eye!  Plus, she was so friendly and easy going that she’d be someone I’d not only get along with to work with, but I would feel comfortable bouncing ideas off of.   She’s kind of our price range though, so we might have to cut costs somewhere if we hire her.  We still have two more photographers to meet with, but I really love her style the most.

Shopping for wedding dresses in Regina is proving to be very unsuccessful.  I just can’t find what I want here.  Everything is so heavy and complicated.  I want something pretty, light, vintagy.  I can find what I want in magazines, but not here.  However, Sandy and I are going to go look at an authentic 50’s wedding dress that someone in Regina is selling!  We’ll see how that goes!

I’ve been making some of the DIY things for the wedding and have started compiling photos for the slideshow.  I love doing things like this, and I am signed up for another Master’s class, but all I want to do is wedding plan and make jewellery.  😦  I don’t really know what to do and I have a week to figure it out.  Wish me luck. :S  In the mean time, here is a random smattering of photos that I have saved over the past few weeks!


A beautiful candy bar using milk glass!


I
have that vase on the right, but in pink.

This is EXACTLY what I want to do, but peonies are out of season.  BOOOO!  Perhaps real hydrangeas and artificial peonies would work?


T
his is really pretty too.

This would look nice on the guest book table.  This is actually from a beautiful shower.

Ideas for the candy bar.

I love the frames in the background!

The above photo and the next three are SO my style!  The little brown birds are about the size of the blown glass ones that I have.

This must have been the most beautiful wedding!

Hydrangea bouquets.

More milk glass bouquet ideas.

I have two frames just like this.  I want to find some chalkboard material to put inside of them.  They’re super heavy though, so I’d have to make some kind of stand for them or something.

Mom found awesome tags like this at Winners!  I need to download a font like the above to make my tags eventually!

SO perfect!

More hydrangeas and milk glass.  Obviously I should have organized these better before I uploaded them!

I had wanted to have a vintage typewriter with a message before I saw this picture, and then Sandy told me she had one at HER wedding too!  Great minds think alike!

I love this dress!

A cute bridesmaid dress.

The washed-out vintage look of these photos is an effect / lighting technique that I love and that the photographer with whom we met uses as well.

More cute bridesmaid dresses.

Cameos would be neat on our accessories or hooked to the bouquets.

The above and the following pictures are ones that I liked for photo ideas.

That’s all for now!  I have a ton of other pictures saved on the other computer, so stay tuned!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Debbie says:

    Wow, everything looks soooo beautiful on your updated entries, Chelsi! I love looking at your ideas and envisioning what your wedding will look like. It will be beautiful!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Chelsi says:

    Thanks a lot Mom! I can’t wait to see it all together!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Beth says:

    Hi Chelsi…

    Thought of you today as we went wedding dress shopping with Amy!!! She and Tyler have set their date, and are to be married in a tiny ceremony in Tofino on July 7, with only immediate family. The date, as I recall is also Joan & Roger’s anniversary date! (Good luck, for sure!!!). They may have a larger reception party, here in town later on.

    Amy is also having some trouble finding a dress, but check out the designer Magdelina.ca. They are a Canadian design company, with very flowy designs, which is what Amy wanted. She wanted to stay away from the “generic” bridal look. Next time you are in PA, we will have to show you Paul’s Memere’s dress from 1954 which we have stored here…talk about authentic vintage!!!

    This wedding planning is all so exciting, and I love your friend’s comment about the mother of the bride shining on the big day as well!!! I know I will be beaming!

    Keep us updated…love all your ideas and watching the progress!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • * Chelsi says:

      That’s so exciting that Amy and Tyler set their date! I will definitely check out that site because that’s what I’m looking for too. I’d love to see Memere’s dress!! I went to try on a 50’s one today and will definitely keep it in mind. It was beautiful, but just SO scratchy! If I don’t find anything that I like, I could get it though and have it lined.
      Thanks for following the blog! Talk to you soon!
      ~ Chelsi

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Joan says:

    I think there will be a bit of beaming going on here too!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Teresa says:

    This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

