Chelsi's Wedding Blog



Hello World!

My name is Chelsi, I’m 27 years old, and I am recently engaged.  Why create a wedding blog when there are so many excellent blogs out there in the blogosphere already, many of which I frequent 11:30pm when I should be in bed?  Well, between teaching, university classes, and life, my head has been spinning with many ideas for my upcoming wedding, and I’m going to post my ideas and inspiration to this blog as a way of organizing my thoughts and keeping my ideas in one place.  Yes, I still have a binder full of pictures that I have collected, but this will suffice for my computer pictures.  As well, I would like to keep my wedding party in the loop in regards to my ideas.  In an attempt to NOT barrage them with emails filled with pictures, I’m going to post my ideas and inspiration on this blog for everyone to browse at their leisure.  That way, you can check it out when you want, and I won’t annoy anyone by sending a million pictures every day!  Let me know what you think by adding a comment!

Before I begin, I will tell you a little bit about myself.  I absolutely LOVE all things artistic and creative – art, fashion design, crafts, you name it.  In my spare time I like to paint and make jewellery and accessories.  You will find my line, Three Little Birds Designs, online very soon!  I also am obsessed with all things vintage – clothing, home décor, pop culture, architecture, music, EVERYTHING.  I am a huge music fan and love to play music on the organ and piano and attend concerts, often creating vacations around seeing certain bands.  Thank goodness my fiancé Paul shares this same joy, as we partake in many concert events together!

Speaking of Paul, I should introduce the husband-to-be to you all!  Paul and I met through our love of music.  Actually, we met four years before we began dating when my maid-of-honour, Tanya, attempted to set us up, but the timing never worked.  I would see Paul at so many of the concerts that I attended that I often jokingly remarked to my friends, “Oh, there’s my soul-mate again!”  Little did I know that my premonition would come to fruition!  After watching Paul perform live at McNally’s each week when I went to watch my friend Marc perform, I eventually worked up the gumption (with a bit of liquid courage!) to talk to Paul.  We hit it off and a month later, we began dating.  We’ve been together for close to three years now.  Nearly a year of that time was spent with another partner in our relationship – our dear friend Skype.  Paul had to accept a job working in Toronto for nearly a year, and if not for Skype, I would have lost my mind!  Eventually, and to my great, GREAT excitement, Paul returned to Regina to work here and moved in with me.  We’ve been living together ever since and I couldn’t be happier!

In February, we took a trip to Mexico, neither of us having ever left the continent before.  To my even GREATER excitement, Paul proposed!  We had to keep our engagement a secret for an entire week until we returned home and could tell everyone our great news in person!  We have set our wedding date for the summer of 2011, so I have adequate time to plan for the big day!

My excitement…


Paul’s relief!  That would have made for an awkward trip had I declined the proposal!

I have many wedding plans, but I am pretty well-known as a thrifty person.  Not cheap, but thrifty.  If I can make something instead of buying it or save money in any way, shape, or form, I will do it.  I also love vintage shopping and am a frequent Value Village shopper (VV as I usually will refer to it on here).  I guess I am frequent enough that I have been told that I am their “youngest regular”…a statement that I took as a compliment!  Paul and I have created a wedding budget and neither of us will be extravagant spenders.  I’m too frugal, and Paul is too practical!  However, I want our wedding to be beautiful, unique, personal, and simply, US.  I want to include a lot of vintage, personal, and homemade aspects.  I want people to leave saying, “That was so Chelsi and Paul” rather than think that we simply spent a lot of money.  Thus, I present to you, my wedding inspiration in blog form!  Enjoy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Julie Gobeil says:

    you are a great writer chelsi, i am compelled to visit back and see all the cool stuff you post.

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  2. * chelsi83 says:

    Thanks Julie!

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  3. * Joan Gobeil says:

    Very interesting – I’ve only quickly read some of your postings and I’m hooked! Where do you find the time? (I love the name of your business – it’s perfect!)

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
    • * chelsi83 says:

      Thanks a lot Joan! As for time, this is when being an insomniac comes in handy haha!

      | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  4. * Sheri Lessard says:

    Hi Chelsi, I luv the picture of Paul and yourself @ the AC/DC concert. Are you two attending more concerts here in Saskatchewan? Sheri

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
    • * Chelsi says:

      Hey Sheri! We’re going to Simon and Garfunkel in July in Saskatoon, Tom Petty in Winnipeg, and then to a music festival called Osheaga in Montreal in August! I’m kind of leaning towards going to Bon Jovi because I heard that tickets are down to $25 in some sections! Are you going to that? I also have tickets for U2 in Montreal, but we can’t go now, so we have to sell those.
      ~ Chelsi

      | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  5. Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, awesome blog!

    | Reply Posted 4 years ago
  6. * grey dresses says:

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return once again since I
    book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to help others.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

